There’s a Seuss on My Commute

My commute to work takes about 45 minutes.  It’s pretty equally divided between highway and town streets.  There’s relatively little traffic and I’ve been driving the route for more than ten years.  It’s safe to say that one part of my brain can drive it, leaving other parts for day dreaming or just thinking.

For some reason today I was thinking about Dr Seuss books.  I adored them as a child.  The silly made-up words and the colorful illustrations were too much fun to pass up.  Even today, just a few years later, children still laugh at their parents as they get tongue-tied while reading the stories.  It’s a simple joy that every child should get to experience.

Anyway, I got to wondering with what Seuss character could I most identify ?, and, well, the thought process went something like this:

The Whos from Whoville:   OK.  They’re musical, industrious, hardworking, and spiritual. And, I do like to sing. But, how would one find privacy in a place like Whoville?  Nope.  I could never be a Who.  Not even Cindy-Lou Who (who was no more than two). And don’t get me started on all of that noise, noise, noise, noise. On the other hand, they do have Who Hash.

The Grinch:  There are a few things I can identify with the Grinch.  I think that many times I would prefer to live alone in an inaccessible place with just my dog for company. And, occasionally I do puzzle and puzzle until my puzzler is sore.  However, I could never, ever crack a whip at Max, and I don’t think I have the strength of ten Grinches (plus two).

Max:  Loveable, humorous, joyful.  How could you not fall in love with that pup?  Loyal and faithful, even if his owner’s heart is two sizes too small.  Just the thought of him makes me smile.  But he doesn’t quite fit either. 

Horton:  Horton kept doing what he believed in. Even when everyone thought he was crazy, he persevered and finally overcame his dissenters without the use of violence. I tend to attempt the same.  He’s the one who taught us that a person is a person, no matter how small.  However, I don’t know if I have his level of faith in all of humanity as it were.  No.  I think Horton is a much better person than me. 

The Cat In The Hat :  To me, The Cat is reminiscent of the mischief my siblings and I would get into when left alone for a couple of hours by our parents. The sun did not shine, it was too wet to play,  so [we’d sit] in the house all that cold, cold, wet day.

It also brings back that horrible feeling when the panic would set in once we realized that our parents were due home at any minute and the house was a wreck.  We had one sister who always played the part of the fish.  She was the constant that reminded us that we’d pay the price when mom got home.  We’d set off at a frantic pace to clean and somehow seemed to pull it off – every time.  However, I had my suspicions that mom and dad knew all about it and just smiled to themselves when it happened.

Marco:  You remember Marco.  Sure you do.  He’s the kid that saw all of that stuff on Mulberry Street.  I think I can most relate to Marco.  When I’m doing menial daily tasks my mind tends to wander.  It starts out relatively innocent, but the story builds, and it goes off onto to random tangents.  Soon, I’m relating seemingly unrelated things and the excitement builds with each passing thought. 

The thoughts then become a noisy parade of colorful characters marching through my brain.  And it becomes a wonderful story that no one can beat, when I say that I saw it on Mulberry Street.  It all finally builds to a fervor when I decide to share my thoughts with a friend. 

 But as soon as I think about sharing it, the crescendo fades away and I realize that I’m not able to explain my thoughts and how they interconnect.  Even if I could, would he believe me?  In the end I settle for something far less appealing, but nonetheless more believable. 

So that is the character I think I identify with most.  Marco, bored as he walks to school (drives to work) and entertains himself with a fantastical story that he doesn’t know how to share with the rest of the world.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Original Writings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

